top of page
  • Writer's picturejulianmhirsch

A brief Sojourn: Biblical Archaeology in Arkansas


About two weeks ago, I came up with the idea for this project. After finding the lists of places to visit on Bibleplaces.com, I quickly searched the page for locations in Arkansas, and was pleased to find that there was a whole Biblical Archaeology Collection within an easy day's drive. While I had never heard of Harding University, as I read about the over 100 artifact collection housed in the Linda Byrd Smith Museum of Biblical Archaeology, I knew I would have to visit. As with many of the other locations I plan on visiting this summer, getting into the museum took a couple of emails as most campuses are entirely closed to visitors. On the other side of my visit to the museum and with the help of Harding's in house Biblical Archaeologist, Dale W. Manor, I learned a great deal about the museum's mission, history, and the origin of its artifacts. I look forward to sharing the details of my visit soon.



38 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page